Preparing your device for service

Preparing your device

Before you give away your device or send it in for service, it is important that you back up your device and prepare it appropriately.

Apple technicians can’t perform service repairs when the Find My feature is enabled. Please ensure that this is turned off before you send away your device.

To do this, sign out of iCloud and then erase all content and settings. This completely erases your device, removes it from your Apple ID and turns off the Find My feature.

In iOS 10.3 or later:

  1. Tap Settings > [your name].
  2. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. 
  3. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.
  4. Go back to Settings.
  5. Tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

In iOS 10.2 or earlier:

  1. Tap Settings > iCloud.
  2. Scroll down and tap Sign Out > Sign Out.
  3. Tap Delete from My iPhone and enter your password.
  4. Go back to Settings.
  5. Tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

To avoid losing all of your content, please back up your device with Apple. Click below to learn how to do this.